About District

The word ‘Kulgam’ denotes “Kul” meaning thereby the “Whole” and the “Gam” in Arabic to  “teach righteousness”.

Mir Syed Hussain Simnania (RA) had invited  Hazrat Amir Kabir Mir Syed Ali Hamdani (RA) to Kashmir and mystical poetess Lal Ded  to Kulgam where their disciples like  Sheikh Noor-ud-din Noorani (RA), manifesting the composite culture, promoted and encouraged it even when dissension in rest of the Asiatic Countries was taken as heretics. Kulgam, as such, is believed to be a place acting as torch-bearer for righteousness in the circumspection.

          For Administrative convenience and with the aim to bring administration closer to the people for their development and betterment, district Kulgam, like other 07 newly created districts in the state, came into existence after being carved out from District Anantnag and made functional administratively with effect from 2nd April, 2007.

          Town Kulgam (District Headquater) is situated at a distance of about 68 kms from Srinagar and about 17 kms from Anantnag. Geograhically, the district lies between 330 –15’ North Latitudde and 740-35’ East longitude bounded in the East and North by Anantnag and Shopian districts respectively.  It is also bounded by Reasi, Ramban & Rajouuri Districts in the South and South west though separated by mighty and majestic mountainous range of Pirpanjal acting as a massive topographic physical protection. The District has road connectivity with its neighboring districts like Shopain, Pulwama, Anantnag and Ramban etc, besides being linked with far flung areas of the district by a dependable road network. Nallah Veshav, which drains from northern face of Pir Panjal, is the main left bank tributary of river Jehlum and traverses through District Kulgam. Before confluence of Veshu with the Jehlum, it gets broken off into a number of channels providing drinking water facilities to vast population of the district and irrigation facilities to huge tracks of the agricultural land of the district. Besides places of spiritual interest viz  Mir Syed Hussain Simnania (RA) at Kulgam, Sheikhul Alam (RA) at Gofbal Bogund Qaimoh, Noorshah Bagdadi at Kund, Sheikh Noor-udin Wali (RA) at Chimmer, the District has tourist spots like: “Aherbal Water Fall” on Veshu Nallah which is place of sight-seeing in extreme South-West of Kulgam. “Kung-Watan and Gurwatan” ahead of Aherbal; “Charebal” and “Nandimarg” highland pastures are also places of tourist attraction apart from virgin meadows in the area from ‘Kund’ to ‘Ladigasan’ (ahead of Aherbal Clefts). The District has super abundance of natural & fresh water resources also in the shape of various famous springs, such as, Kounsarnag (ahead of Aherbal), Waseknag (Kund), Khee Nag (Khee Jogipora) etc.

          Comprising of a geographical area 1067 Sq. Kms, the District has one Sub-Division (Noorabad) and Seven Tehsils, namely, Kulgam, Devsar , Damhal Hanjipora, Pahloo, Yaripora, Frisal and Qoimoh, 21 Nayabats ,viz, Kulgam, Qaimoh, Mirhama, Yaripora, Devsar, Chowgam, D H Pora, Nagam, Pahloo, Lammer, Katrasoo, Ashmuji, Tangmarg, Chimmer, Chambgund, Kilam, Khull, Balsoo, KB Pora, Manzgam and Nowbugh Kund. The District has 11 Community Development Blocks, viz. Kulgam, D H Pora, Pahloo, Devsar, Qaimoh (partly), Kund, Manzgam, D K Marg, Pombay, Frisal and Behibag. As per Census 2011, the District consists of 231 Villages out of which 226 villages are inhabited and 05 are un-inhabited. There are 04 Municipal Committees viz Kulgam, Devsar, Yaripora & Frisal. The Municipal Committees namely Ashmuji, Mohammadpora, Qaimoh and few wards from some MCs have been denotified by the Govt during the years 2012 to 2015. Out of four (04) Assembly Constituencies, Kulgam and Noorabad fall fully in the District while as two (02) Assembly Segments viz. H S Bugh and Devsar fall partly in its jurisdiction.